Notes from April 12 board meeting

Read about actions taken at the April 12 school board meeting. Find out more by visiting Pattonville's BoardDocs website.

Board Actions

The board of education on April 12:

  • Reviewed and accepted an evaluation of the district’s transportation program; read the report or view the presentation;
  • Approved paying $792,397.06 for regular bills;
  • Approved, subject to audit, the financial statements for the month of March 2022;
  • Approved paying $284,608.25 for purchases made on Pattonville’s purchasing cards, which earned the district a rebate of 1% (or $2,846.08);
  • Declared a list of items as surplus to be sold on the district’s GovDeals website;
  • Lodged for action the revisions to policies EGAAA (Reproduction of Copyrighted Materials), IGAC (Teaching about Religion), IGBB (Programs for Gifted Students), IIAC-R (Instructional Media Centers/School Libraries) and KLB-R (Public Complains Regarding District Instructional Materials/Media/Library Materials) and the rescission of policies IGAA (Citizenship Education), IGAF (Physical Education), IIACA (“Weeding” of Library Materials Procedure), IKA (Grading Systems) and IKAB (Student Progress Reports to Parents); a vote is expected at the May 10 board meeting;
  • Approved paying $1,551.50 to Tueth, Keeney, Mohan and Jackstadt for legal services;
  • Approved a contract with Turnitin for a Feedback Studio Enterprise License for $25,181.56;
  • Approved the renewal of an agreement for paint and paint supplies with PPG Architectural Finishes for $11,561.58;
  • Awarded a bid to sell surplus MacBook Air Laptops to Total Technology for a guaranteed minimum of $67,728.60; and
  • Approved the purchase of a Lochnivar Boiler replacement from Behrmann Company for $138,100.


New Hires

  • Dina Barakat, teacher, Bridgeway
  • Elena Bernstein, teacher, Parkwood
  • Joseph Chanko, evening custodian, high school
  • Michelle Crocker, guidance counselor, Heights
  • Madelyn Demas, parent educator, early childhood
  • Isabel DiSalvo, teacher, Bridgeway
  • Julia Gray, teacher, Remington
  • Ashley Green, Spanish teacher, high school
  • Bria Griffith, English language arts teacher, Holman
  • Tanya Hadley, guidance secretary, high school
  • Madison Hart, English teacher, high school
  • Michelle Haupt, teacher, Willow Brook
  • Catherine Hicks, teacher, Drummond
  • Lyman Hopkins, bus driver, transportation
  • Brooke Huber, teacher, Drummond
  • Carter Kennedy, social studies teacher, Heights
  • Raghib Muhammad, business education teacher/career instructional specialist, high school
  • Lauren Negrete, English learner teacher, high school
  • Adeline Nerstheimer, teacher, Willow Brook
  • Christy Newsham, teacher, Willow Brook
  • Tyler Potts, math teacher, Holman
  • Mindy Ridings, English teacher, high school
  • Allison Rudow, Spanish teacher, high school
  • Jordan Sammelmann, social studies teacher, Heights
  • Laura Thomson, art teacher, high school
  • Taylor Thuet, teacher, Drummond
  • Allison Wills, English language arts teacher, high school 



  • Anne Boyd, English/journalism teacher, high school, effective at the end of the 2021-2022 school year after serving Pattonville for three years
  • Barbara Foland, early childhood paraprofessional, effective at the end of the 2021-2022 school year after serving Pattonville for three years
  • Edna Stepanek, library clerk, Holman, effective at the end of the 2021-2022 school year after serving Pattonville for seven years

Two certified staff members were approved for retirement under the certified separation incentive plan. They are:

  • Nancy Brennan, gifted education teacher, Holman
  • Rod Simpkins, elementary teacher at Rose Acres

Sixteen support staff members were approved for retirement under the support staff separation incentive plan. They are:

  • Cheryl Arnold, executive secretary, Holman
  • Thomas Betts, custodian, Willow Brook
  • Mack Boyd, custodian, Willow Brook
  • Raymond Braun, technology support specialist, high school
  • Cynthia Brooks, paraprofessional, early childhood
  • Lori Connors, parent educator, early childhood
  • Kara Crismon, nurse, Bridgeway
  • Don Crow, maintenance/journeyman, maintenance department
  • Rebecca Gillming, paraprofessional, Drummond
  • Douglas Gittus, bus driver, transportation
  • Debbie Jansen, executive secretary, high school
  • Jeannie Jones, executive secretary, Remington
  • Heidi Lanham, nurse, high school
  • Catherine Lobser, paraprofessional, early childhood
  • Mickey McGrotty, maintenance/journeyman, maintenance department
  • Nancy O’Neill, executive secretary, Learning Center
  • Patricia Patrick, executive secretary, high school
  • Terry Raby, custodian, high school
  • Mary Reed, community programs coordinator, Learning Center
  • Duane (Scott) Robinson, AV and print specialist, high school
  • Sherry Scanlon, nurse, Parkwood
  • Sherry Wuest, custodian, Bridgeway
  • Holmes Tyrrell, bus driver, transportation